Main menu


Borger Receives Lumpkin Leadership Award

featured image

Richmond, Virginia– spider cross country graduation peter boger (Moseley, Pennsylvania) received the William L. Lumpkin Athletics Leadership Award, presented to senior faculty members of the University of Richmond’s cross-country/track and field team. The award is based on excellent academic and athletic performance and citizenship.

The Lumpkin Leadership Awards were established in 1997 in memory of former Spiders coach Dr. William L. Lumpkin by alumni of the 1948-49 cross-country team Lumpkin coached.

Considered by coaches, peers and professors to be a great college leader and long-distance runner, Boger is one of the top Harriers to wear the Richmond uniform in the past decade.

Last October, Borger became the first Spider to win the Atlantic 10 cross-country title in 11 years by more than eight seconds off the field. For his efforts, Peter was named Atlantic 10 Performer of the Year. Only seven months ago, Borger was postponed to the 2020 Atlantic 10 Cross Country where he finished third in the championship, leading the team to his first team title in ten years.

He also ran the distance medley relay in 2019 and has two IC4A qualifier appearances for the Spiders in the 5,000 m in 2022. spider. Boger boasts some of the fastest spider personal bests of the past decade, with at 1,500m he clocked 3:51.67, at 5,000m he clocked 14:19.09, and at 10,000m he clocked 30:15.26. .

During his career, he served coaches and teammates as captain of the men’s cross-country team, helped the team earn USTFCCCA All-Academic honors every four years, and extended a streak of 20 consecutive nominations for the Spiders. extended to

“Peter is a great example of our program as a program,” said Steve Taylor, men’s cross-country head coach. helped build a winning culture.He was a fierce competitor and his achievements outside of athletics were outstanding.He was a role model and mentor for our team. He has learned to balance his responsibilities as a student and athlete with an unwavering commitment to this sport. It is an honor to mentor him as he joins an elite group of young men and women to receive this award.”

Past William L. Lumpkin Leadership Award Winners1997~ Award established1998 – Randall Todd Myers1999 – Stephen James Conroy2000 – Allen Gray Bowman2001 – Jeffrey Murray Crook2002 – David John Blanchard2003- peter thomas Jennings2004 – Jonathan A. Lauder2005 – Brett William Walton2006 – John Patrick Chiccarelli2007 – Beth Ann Crocus2008 – Jonathan Robert Maltz2009 – Shawn Michael Welsh2010 – Garrett Patrick Graham2011- Andrew BenfordMatthew Llano2012 – Devin Cassels2013 – Christopher York2014 – Jason Skipper2015- Ryan Lee2016 – Tim Gruber2017 – Mary Allen2018 – Alexander Racking2019 – Jonathan Hoag2020- Miles Crichman
2021- Trey Burleson
2022- peter boger